EKO AKETE

street-view.jpg

Home of hooligans, 
homeless, helpless, 
hustlers.

Going through the streets of Lagos,
Especially mushin the house of the streetwise,
where everybody has to clap his or her
purse under their arms.
everyone in our neighborhood is a suspect of theft, 
we don’t know who is who.

Stay Alert is our watchword in our area.
The big cars come and go,
They all reap what they sow, 
They pretend and trick us with vain words.
Whenever the atmosphere is thick, 
we all switch to our stay alert mood,
all sniffing like a dog ready to jump at a thief.
I see what I see and what I see is the truth.

People say shouting from the roof is my hobby
but what else can an old woman do
but shout when someone else is about to fall victim to the welcome to Lagos package. 
People talk, 
People stalk, 
A massive game,
We are all the same in my street,
That is why people say I am strict.